Dick Ahmann Memorial Scholarship

Each year, an outstanding applicant is selected for a special scholarship named for the late Richard "Dick" Ahmann, a visionary leader in the field of insurance

The award

Established in 2018, the Dick Ahmann Memorial Scholarship is presented by the SFM Foundation to one remarkable incoming applicant. The scholarship is named in honor of Richard “Dick” Ahmann, who embodied excellence and professionalism throughout his distinguished life and career.

About Dick Ahmann

Richard Ahmann photo

Richard (Dick) Ahmann led Minnesota’s independent insurance agents to higher prosperity and helped set the stage for higher competition in the workers’ compensation field.

After he graduated from Marshall High School in St. Paul, he attended Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Ind., and became a Navy officer. He served on an aircraft carrier in the Pacific during World War II.

After returning to the Twin Cities, he graduated with a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Minnesota in 1950, when he began work in business insurance.

He became a partner in the Ed Arnold Co., and in 1975, he was the sole owner of the firm, renamed RJ Ahmann Co. in Eden Prairie.

His son, Richard (Rick) Ahmann of Eden Prairie, succeeded him as the leader the firm, which became one of the largest independent agencies for business insurance in Minnesota.

“He was genuine,” said his son. “His word was his bond. He was a people person and he could walk in and light up a room.”

The elder Ahmann served as president of several insurance trade associations, such as the Minnesota Independent Agent Association, where he consistently made his mark on Minnesota workers’ compensation, according to Fran Kaitala, past Vice President of Business Operations for SFM Mutual Insurance Company.

“Dick Ahmann ran one of the finest independent agencies in the state,” Kaitala said. “He was a great friend to anybody in the industry.”

“He mentored a lot of insurance people along the way,” and through education programs “he improved the level of professionalism of agents in the state,” Kaitala said.

Dick Ahmann was named Insurance Man of the Year of Greater Minneapolis in 1979.

He was a national director for several insurance companies, such as the old Aetna Life and Casualty, and the old Reliance Insurance Co.

During his career, Ahmann was proud of many high-profile accounts, such as the Minnesota Vikings and the Metrodome.

2024 recipient

Zach Krage

Zachary Krage

Zachary is the Dick Ahmann Memorial Scholarship recipient for 2024.

He plans to attend Gustavus Adolphus College to pursue a degree in computer science.


Past recipients

Vanessa Leukam

Rebecca Ogega


Vanessa Leukam

Vanessa Leukam


2021 Dick Ahmann Award receipient Keenan Jacobs

Keenan Jacobs


2020 Dick Ahmann Award receipient Bradley Rohloff

Bradley Rohloff


Cameron Beminio photo

Owen Sackmaster


2018 Dick Ahmann Memorial Scholarship recipient Cameron Beminio

Cameron Beminio


Row of scholarship recipient photos

Help more exceptional students in need

Your donations make scholarships possible. When you contribute to the SFM Foundation, you change lives.
Sponsor or attend an eventMake a donation
Skip to content